2017 Scholarship Program for Diverse Leaders

 Our scholarship program offered an opportunity to attend the BoardSource Leadership Forum

Judith O’Connor Memorial Fund Scholarship Program Recipients

The Judith O’Connor Memorial Fund Scholarships for Emerging Nonprofit Leaders program was created in 2005 to honor the legacy of Judith O’Connor, the former president & CEO of BoardSource, and to educate emerging sector leaders about exceptional nonprofit leadership and governance.

This year’s 20 scholars went through a competitive selection process and bring tremendous talent, passion, and commitment to their work with nonprofits across the country and around the globe:

  • Dechen Albero, board member, Global Youth Connect
  • Jody Braunig, executive director, Girls on the Run New Orleans
  • Noelle Ferrari, board secretary, Babysteps Ministry
  • Elizabeth Gibbons, managing director, American Society of Adaptation Professionals
  • Akemi Imai, president, Makoto Taiko
  • Kavita Khandekar Chopra, deputy director, Human Rights Initiative of North Texas, Inc.
  • Korri Krajicek, executive assistant and secretary to the board of directors, Florida Holocaust Museum
  • Ramah Kudaimi, director of grassroots organizing, U.S. Campaign for Palestinian Rights
  • Felicita Monteblanco, Washington County nonprofit network program coordinator, Vision Action Network
  • Barby Moro, director of student affairs – NFL, Southern Scholarship Foundation
  • Alankrita Narang, business operations specialist, Boston Harbor Now
  • Shelby Pedersen, chief executive officer, ICAN-Arizona
  • Nick Rudolph, board president, Pigtown Main Street, Inc.
  • Sakala Rutherford, vice president, board of directors, Amara Legal Center
  • Philip Scott, in house counsel, Association of Christian Schools International
  • Jarell Skinner-Roy, program manager, College Possible
  • Kate Solis Silva, associate director of development, Chicago Lights
  • Joyce Tan, compliance officer, Christian Credit Counselors, Inc.
  • Joe Dorman, chief executive officer, Oklahoma Institute for Child Advocacy